2016-07-07 / Racing Roundup

Dietrich Takes PA Speedweek

By Brad Vores

Heading into the 26th annual PA Sprint Speedweek, Danny Dietrich hadn’t had the best of seasons. But when seven of the nine scheduled Speedweek races were completed, Dietrich was the only driver to finish in the top 10 in all events. That string of consistency along with two big wins propelled him to his first-ever PA Speedweek championship. He became the eighth different driver to capture a PA Speedweek championship.

Following opening weekend action last week, Speedweek resumed Tuesday at Grandview Speedway where rains forced the feature to be postponed following 15 laps. Greg Hodnett was leading and will resume the point when the race is made up on July 26.

Hagerstown Speedway was the Speedweek track Wednesday night where it was Lance Dewease destroying the field for his second win of the week. He scored the win over Ryan Smith, Stevie Smith, Danny Dietrich and Greg Hodnett. Mike Wagner finished 14th, and Logan Wagner’s first ever Hagerstown start resulted in a 19th-place finish.

Dewease continued his hot streak Thursday at Port Royal Speedway where he picked up another win, this time coming over Stevie Smith, Lucas Wolfe, Danny Dietrich and Brent Marks. Mike Wagner was 13th and Logan Wagner 21st after a hard crash following contact with another car.

Dietrich got his first win of the week in the biggest race of Speedweek, the Mitch Smith Memorial, Friday at Williams Grove Speedway. Dietrich pushed his car under Hodnett with seven laps to go, made the bump and run and went on to victory. Hodnett, Brian Montieth, Alan Krimes and James McFadden were the top five, with Mike Wagner placing 20th.

Lucas Wolfe got the Saturday night win in a nonstop feature at Port Royal Speedway beating Brent Marks, Greg Hodnett, Stevie Smith and Ryan Smith. Mike Wagner was 17th.

And in Sunday’s finale at Selinsgrove Speedway, it was all Dietrich leading flag to flag to post the win and the Speedweek title in a win over Hodnett, Blane Heimbach, Lucas Wolfe and Aaron Ott.

Dietrich had 1,032 points to take the $5,000 title over Hodnett (994), Wolfe (881), Marks (806) and Ryan Smith (799).

In other weekend racing, Jeff Rine won the Late Model feature Saturday at Port Royal over Mason Zeigler, Andy Haus, Tim Wilson and Danny Snyder.

Doug Hammaker came from his 19th starting spot to score the 358 Sprint car win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway over Steve Drevicki, Kevin Nouse, Adrian Shaffer and Kyle Denmyer.

Tyler Walton won a career first 358 Sprint car feature Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Seth Kearchner, Doug Hammaker, David Holbrook and Jeff Halligan.

Saturday night Susquehanna Speedway action saw Scott Geesey win the Firecracker 40 for Super Sportsman over Chad Criswell, Scott Dellinger, Frankie Herr and Rich Eichelberger, while DJ Myers scored the win in the Topless 40 for 358 Late Models over Randy Christine Jr., Gene Knaub, Shaun Jones and Sam Gallagher.

Return to top