2014-04-10 / Sports

Bonebrake Takes Path Valley Season Opener

The first weekend of racing was rained out the previous week, so when it rained again this Friday the management of Path Valley Speedway decided to reschedule the show for Sunday afternoon. The car counts were not up to midsummer numbers, but there was still plenty of action.

The Mini Stocks got the show started. Chris Anderson took the lead at the drop of the green flag and pulled away by a few car lengths. Jeremy Ott started to close the gap after about five laps and was right behind Anderson at the halfway mark. Ott continued to pressure Anderson, looking to the inside nearly every turn. Anderson kept using the higher line and was able to use the momentum to regain control as they exited each corner. Ott took one last shot in the final turn pulling alongside Anderson as they went into Turn 3. The two cars made slight contact and as they exited Turn 4 Anderson’s car turned down into Ott’s car. Ott was able to keep his car straight as he powered to the checkered flag while Anderson spun around. Mark Grove and Kenny Black drove around Anderson as he was turning around to take second and third, dropping Anderson to fourth. Josh Group completed the top five, and Ott was the heat winner.

Austin Johnson started on the pole of the Super Stock feature and led all 20 laps to score the win. Curtis Guyer and Bill Powell dueled for second until Guyer dropped out just past the halfway point. Powell made a few attempts to pass Johnson but had no success and spent the last few laps holding off a late charge by Brad McGinnis.

Andy Fries led the 10-car Late Model field to the green flag and showed the way early on with Brad Kling running second. Wes Bonebrake moved into second a few laps into the event and began to chase down Fries. Bonebrake got to within a car length of Fries as the field got the halfway sign in the 25-lap event. Most day races on dirt end up with a dry, slick track, and Sunday was no different. Most of the field was hugging the bottom groove, and it looked like Bonebrake would have to settle for second with no room to pass. Surprisingly Bonebrake moved to the high groove and drove around Fries and into the lead on Lap 18. As Bonebrake was taking the lead Fries did a complete 360 degree spin on the apron of Turn 2, dropping him back to fifth. Bonebrake was uncontested from then on with a comfortable lead at the finish. Brad Kling held off a charging George Dixon the last four laps and they finished second and third.

Tony Hampton felt he let one slip away with one mistake on Saturday, and was determined not to let it happen again Sunday. Hampton controlled the five-car 4-Cylinder Thunder Car field all day, first winning the heat race, then starting first and leading all 20 laps to win the feature. The positions behind Hampton were swapped several times, but at the end it was Kyle Martin finishing second, ahead of Brandon Seibert, Charles Stallman, and Mike Fuller.

The winter that just will not quit claimed the first weekend of Path Valley’s 2014 racing season but eased off just enough to get the first race in the books on Saturday, April 5.

The 270cc Micro Sprints were the first feature. Levi Peck started first and set the early pace. Colby Dice started right behind Peck and took second on the start. Peck pulled away for a few laps, but then Dice began to reel Peck back in. On Lap 10 Peck bobbled slightly in Turn 1, and Dice was right there to take the lead. Three cautions slowed the pace in the second half of the race, but Dice was able to pull away from Peck on every re-start, leading by a few car lengths when the checkered flag fell. Josh Stoyer picked up a few positions late, aided by Scott Gingrich pulling off with two laps to go, and finished third.

Timmie Barrick was the polesitter for the 600cc Micro Sprint feature and led the first seven laps. The only caution happened on Lap 8, and on the re- start Jim Young used the high groove to power around Barrick in turns 1 and 2 and take the lead. Young stretched his lead out the remaining laps, leading by nearly a full straightaway at the finish. Barrick was all alone in second, followed by Arron Spahr, Devin Beidel and Tanner Hunsicker.

Frankie Gordon dominated the Mini Stock competition, leading all 20 laps after starting sixth. Mark Gove brought out the only caution on Lap 2, but came back to finish second, over half of a lap behind Gordon.

Tony Hampton appeared to be the driver to beat in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature after he won the heat race and drew the pole position for the main event. Hampton made a mistake getting too low entering Turn 1 on the first lap, and he dropped back to fourth in the four-car field. Jeremy Moore took full advantage of the situation, grabbing the lead and then running mistake free for the 20-lap non-stop event to score the win.

Return to top